Keir Whitaker

About The Author

Keir Whitaker Keir Whitaker works at Shopify & co-hosts The Back to Front Show podcast. He regulary writes about, and shares links on, ecommerce, the web industry & podcasting.

Survey: Essential JavaScript for New Projects

Like many developers I have a standard set of files that I simply copy into every new project I start. These include base HTML templates, useful PHP functions, Sass mixins and a number of JavaScript files that I can't live without. With the advent of great libraries like Modernizr and polyfills such as the indepensable html5shim we are becoming more reliant on these resources to help us create...

Like many developers I have a standard set of files that I simply copy into every new project I start. These include base HTML templates, useful PHP functions, Sass mixins and a number of JavaScript files that I can’t live without. With the advent of great libraries like Modernizr and polyfills such as the indepensable html5shim we are becoming more reliant on these resources to help us create great web sites and applications.

I thought it would be interesting to learn more about the libraries and scripts our readers on Smashing Coding use on a daily basis.

Here’s a list of my standard JavaScript files that I have in my “js” directory. Not all of them get used on each project and a tidy up is undertaken before the final production deploy but most of them tend to feature in most of my sites.

What am I missing from my toolbox? I would love to hear more about what you use and why? Please do let us know in the comments.


More Articles on

Rapid Prototyping For Any Device With Foundation

by ZURB

Editor’s note: This article is the second piece in our new series introducing new, useful and freely available tools and techniques presented and released by active members of the Web design community (the first article covered PrefixFree, a new tool be Lea Verou). ZURB are well-known for their wireframing and prototyping tools and in this post they present their recent tool, Foundation, a...

Read more

Optimizing Long Lists Of Yes / No Values With JavaScript

by Lea Verou

Very frequently in Web development (and programming in general), you need to store a long list of boolean values (yes/no, true/false, checked/unchecked… you get the idea) into something that accepts only strings. Maybe it’s because you want to store them in localStorage or in a cookie, or send them through the body of an HTTP request. I’ve needed to do this countless times. The last...

Read more

Getting Started With PHP Templating

by Krzysztof Rakowski

In the early days of PHP applications, “spaghetti code” was a familiar sight. Fragments of PHP code were mixed in with HTML mark-up. There were no frameworks, so Web applications were just a bunch of source files. As the PHP language matured, developers started to think about the cleanliness and maintainability of their code. The model-view-controller (MVC) pattern was introduced. MVC is...

Read more