Jad Limcaco

About The Author

Jad Limcaco Former editor in chief of Designinformer.

Photoshop Layer Styles in CSS3

I just ran across this awesome project by Felix Niklas and it blew my mind. it's an HTML5 app for creating CSS3 in an intuitive way. The interface is very similar to Photoshop and functions just like it as well. I wrote a little preview/breakdown/review of it.

I just ran across this awesome project by Felix Niklas and it blew my mind. it's an HTML5 app for creating CSS3 in an intuitive way. The interface is very similar to Photoshop and functions just like it as well. I wrote a little preview/breakdown/review of it.

LayerStyles - HTML5 App

The Breakdown

LayerStyles is just like you favorite graphic editor - but in your browser. And it creates CSS. The screenshot above is how the editor looks like. There's a lot of really interesting features that's included with it.
  1. Layer Styles This is where you can find some of the default CSS3 layer styles that are included by default. You can also create your own layer styles and what's nice about this is that your color swatches, gradients and styles are locally stored so when you open this site up again, you don't have to re-create your styles again.
  2. Style Properties This online app gives you some different styles that you can customize. There are 5 different ones that you can use. There is a drop-shadow, an inner-shadow, background, border, and border-radius. The sliders and settings look and work just like if you were still in Photoshop. The gradient tool is a little-buggy but is definitely still usable.
  3. Preview This is your layer styles preview. When you edit the layer style properties, the changes are shown here.
  4. Drag and Drop Images I thought this was neat. You can actually drag your own images here and use it for reference. You can also use their color-picker and select colors from your reference image. This comes in real-handy if you are going to try to re-create a button or something.
  5. CSS3 Code This is where you can see your CSS3. You can easily select the code and copy it. There's a copy button but I've tested in my browser and it doesn't seem to work. Also, the only gripe I have is that some of the vendor prefixes aren't used. For instance, if I create a rounded border, it doesn't include the vendor prefix for Mozilla or webkit. But that's no problem for me because I can easily just paste the code into PrefixMyCSS and let them ad the specific vendor prefixes that I need.
It took me all of 30 seconds to figure out how this tool works and I've added it to my bookmarks. This is definitely going to be very helpful for me. My favorite site to create CSS3 before was CSS3 Generator but I think I'll start using LayerStyles from now on. With some more tweaks and additions, this tool would be perfect.

Additional Information

What do you all think of this HTML5 App? What are some improvements that you think can be made? Let me know what your thoughts are in the comments. Also, feel free to ask me any question you may have. Thanks!


More Articles on

High-Quality and Free Design Resource Websites

by Jad Limcaco

Design Informer is here to inform you of some great high-quality websites that offer some really good design resources. Best of all, these resources are free. Whether you are looking for a button, textures, or other web design elements for your next design, you are sure to find it in one of these websites.

Read more

The Best Free Fonts for Designers

by Jad Limcaco

I've been meaning to write this post but just haven't had the time to do so. I've received several messages and emails asking me about fonts that I use on some of my design projects. I have a pretty large font collection. Some of them are paid, but a lot of them are free! First of all, I suggest investing in some of the best typefaces out there but I also suggest that you take advantage of the...

Read more

TechCrunch Redesign

by Jad Limcaco

TechCrunch, the group-edited blog about technology start-ups, launched their redesign today. It's quite different from the previous design and it's already drawing a lot of criticism and hate. They redesigned everything, including the logo which is causing quite a stir right now.

Read more