Jad Limcaco

About The Author

Jad Limcaco Former editor in chief of Designinformer.

Wallpaper of the Week - Dark Tiger

This is the ninth edition of Wallpaper of the Week. I created this wallpaper about 3 months ago and I wanted to feature it here on Design Informer. The wallpaper for this week is entitled Dark Tiger. I was playing around with different effects and after combining multiple lighting effects, filters, brushes and textures, this is what I came up with.

This is the ninth edition of Wallpaper of the Week. I created this wallpaper about 3 months ago and I wanted to feature it here on Design Informer. The wallpaper for this week is entitled Dark Tiger. I was playing around with different effects and after combining multiple lighting effects, filters, brushes and textures, this is what I came up with.

Dark Tiger

Dark Tiger

Download

Wallpaper Resolutions:

Production & Process

I created this design around October, when I tried to design something everyday for a whole month. I had a stock photo of a tiger and I wanted to do something creative with it. I started off with a radial gradient going from black to brown. I then overlayed a tiger skin and a rough paper texture over the original background. I then extracted the tiger from its background and placed it over the background.

I also added some paint textures and splatter. Next, I wanted to darken up the image a bit and enhance the contrast, so I played around with some blending modes. Lastly, because the tiger's eyes started to get too dark, I brightened up their eyes and made it stand out more.

Quick Summary

  • Estimated time: 1.5 hours
  • Tools: Photoshop
  • Total Layers Used: 31

Screenshots

Dark Tiger 1

Dark Tiger 2

Dark Tiger 3

Dark Tiger 4

Dark Tiger 5

Dark Tiger 6

Please share your thoughts about this wallpaper on the comments section below. If you liked this wallpaper, please tell your friends by re-tweeting it. You can also subscribe to the RSS Feed.


More Articles on

Principles of Great Design: Craftsmanship

by Richard Glover

I love beautiful things. There's very little in the world that takes my breath away quite like an object that was lovingly crafted, built with care and passion, and presented with the sort of pride that befits a marvelously well-made item. That which is beautiful is increasingly difficult to come by in a world where a premium is placed on speed, and things are made to be disposable. We...

Read more

Impressive Tumblr Customizations

by Jad Limcaco

We all know how popular WordPress is. Hundreds of blogs that we visit daily use WordPress to publish their content. Over the past year, there have been a few different services that have popped up that allows you to post content online a lot faster than WordPress would. Two of the most popular ones are Tumblr and Posterous. While posting content through these services is incredibly easy, the...

Read more

Wallpaper of the Week - Colourful Universe

by Jad Limcaco

I can't believe it's already the eight edition of Wallpaper of the Week. The wallpaper for this week is entitled Colourful Universe. The wallpaper was designed by UK based graphic designer, Simon Page. He is a self-taught graphic designer who loves many aspects of design but his main passions are typography art, illustration and geometric design. Please check out the wallpaper in full-view...

Read more