Jad Limcaco

About The Author

Jad Limcaco Former editor in chief of Designinformer.

Wallpaper of the Week - Solid

This is the sixth edition of Wallpaper of the Week here at Design Informer. This week's wallpaper is entitled Solid. The wallpaper was designed by none other than myself. This is a personal wallpaper that I experimented with about two months ago. It's perfect for those who want a simple and dark wallpaper for their desktop.

This is the sixth edition of Wallpaper of the Week here at Design Informer. This week's wallpaper is entitled Solid. The wallpaper was designed by none other than myself. This is a personal wallpaper that I experimented with about two months ago. It's perfect for those who want a simple and dark wallpaper for their desktop.

Solid

Solid

Download

Wallpaper Resolutions:

Production & Process

sol⋅id - [sol-id]

Having three dimensions (length, breadth, and thickness), as a geometrical body or figure. Of or pertaining to bodies or figures of three dimensions.

A couple of months ago, I decided that I wanted to become a better designer. I then came to the conclusion that in order to do so, I would need some practice. I decided to design a wallpaper everyday for one month. This is one of the wallpapers that I made.

The initial concept was to just use Gotham, one of my favorite fonts, into the design. I wanted to create a wallpaper with the word, "Solid." After trying out different things, I then modified the font quite a bit. I added some texture to the background to add some depth to the wallpaper. One thing led to another and after having a lot of fun with Photoshop, I made a decision that it was time to stop and that the wallpaper was complete.

Quick Summary

  • Estimated time: 3 hours
  • Font: Gotham Bold, but heavily customized
  • Tools: Adobe Photoshop
  • Total Layers Used: 30

Screenshots

Solid

Solid

Solid

Solid

Please share you thoughts about this wallpaper on the comments section below. If you liked this wallpaper, please tell your friends by re-tweeting it. You can also subscribe to the RSS Feed.


More Articles on

What an Animal - Illustrations of Pigs

by Jad Limcaco

This is part 4 of the "What an Animal" series here on Design Informer. I've had a good response about this series and this is my "fun" post of the week. Pigs have always been used in cartoons and in different forms of media. They have been used to depict slopiness, being fat, and sometimes, they have even been used in advertising due to the fact that their cuteness appeals to some people....

Read more

The "Wow" Factor in Web Design

by Jad Limcaco

Everyday, we go through hundreds of different websites. With Twitter and RSS feeds, we are able to see an excessive amount of sites in just a short time. Most of the websites that we visit are forgettable, they don't leave a lasting impression.

Read more

Forming Professional Alliances with Others

by Marie Lardizabal

There is a famous quote that says, "There is strength in numbers." This can be very true when it comes to being a freelancer. As a one-man shop, you are often times limited because of your lack of abilities in certain areas. In this article, we will be discussing the importance of forming professional alliances with others in order for you to grow your freelance business.

Read more